Alcorn Chicago Chapter ranks among the best

JANS – Alcorn State University National Alumni Association recently held its 2011 Mid Winter Conference in Oak Brook, IL. The Alcorn A & M College Club was organized in March of 1919 at the home of Dr. R.C. Chatman at 4521 S. Vincennes Avenue in the Windy City. The club was incorporated in 1930.  The chosen motto was and still is “SED ETIAM ACTUM: NON TANTUM VERBUS,” which translates to “NOT ONLY BY WORDS BUT BY ACTS.”The mission of the Chicago ASU Chapter is to: 1) help students develop to their full potential through educational achievements; 2) assist Alcorn State University in providing educational opportunities and promote education in general; and 3) improve the quality of life for our community. At the 2010 Mid Winter meeting held in Tunica, MS, the Chicago chapter donated $5,000 to its alma mater.Founders of the Chicago ASU chapter were: L.S. Boatner, Carry L. Briggs, Dr. R.C. Chatman, Mary H. Flowers, Carl Hansberry, J.H. Horton, R.H. Lake, Dr. A.L. Lucas, Dr. John H. Mitchell, J.M. Myers, Atty. L.J. Nash and Dr. Riley F. Thomas, all deceased.Current Chicago ASU chapter officers are: Dr. Grady C. Jordan, President; Mary L. Smith, Vice President; Clyde Smith, Treasurer; Betty Johnson-Rojas, Recording Secretary; Floyd Stewart, Chaplain; Otis Maxwell, Sergeant-at-Arms; Everette Luvert, Assistant Recording Secretary; Dorothy Risby, Corresponding Secretary; Herman Scales, Financial Secretary; and Deshanda Curtain-Rodney, Journalist/Webmaster. Board of Directors are: Bernice Maxwell, Gladys Muse, Eddie Reynolds, Dorothy Risby, Doris J. Smith, Floyd Stewart (Chairman) and Susie L. Ware.