UPDATE: 2013 City Elections

By Alice Thomas-Tisdale

Jackson Advocate Publisher

The anticipation of May 7th has come and gone. Left holding the runoff card after Jackson’s Democratic primary are businessman Jonathan Lee and civil rights attorney Chokwe Lumumba. With 100% of precincts reporting, Lee garnered 35% of the vote; Lumumba 24%; and Mayor Harvey Johnson came in third with 21%. There were a total of 11 democrats vying for the city’s top job. Although Councilman Frank Bluntson received only 3% of the vote, it should not dismiss his invaluable volunteerism with senior food programs and youth initiatives.

Also in the May 21st runoff will be four contenders for Jackson City Council. In Ward 4, the field of 10 candidates was narrowed down to Derrick Trimble and DeKeither Stamps, both received 19% of the vote. In Ward 5, incumbent Charles Tillman will get another chance at convincing voters he can offer them more than former councilwoman Betty Dagner Cook. Tillman garnered 40% of the vote compared to Dagner-Cook’s 19% from a field of seven hopefuls.

Ward 1 Councilman Quentin Whitwell, Esq. had no opposition. In Ward 2, Melvin Priester Jr. won in a landslide victory over four other community activists with 65% of the vote. Ward 3 Councilwoman LaRita Cooper-Stokes did likewise, winning 53% of the vote in a field of seven; the closest vote getter was Pam Greer with 11%. Ward 6 Councilman Tony Yarber easily defeated challenger Sylvester McDonald with 82% of voters putting pen to paper for him. Ward 7 Councilwoman Margaret Barrett-Simone beat out challenger June Hardwick with 75% of the vote.

In other races around the state, Arnel Bolden and Canton Mayor Dr. William Truly will meet in a runoff May 21 in the Canton Democratic mayoral primary. Official returns show Bolden with 946 votes and Mayor Truly with 936.

Former Rep. George Flaggs won the Democratic nomination to seek the office of Mayor in Vicksburg. He received the necessary 50%+1. Embattled mayor Paul Winfield only received 8% of the vote. More controversy surrounded this race than any in recent Mississippi history. Challenger Linda Fondren, who came clean after lying about her previous employment as a call girl, netted 29% of the vote. Flaggs will face independent candidate Darryl Hollingsworth in the June 4 general election.

In Moss Point, State Rep. Billy Broomfield defeated incumbent Mayor Aneice Liddell in the Democratic primary and will face two challengers in the general election.  Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins Butler is back in, while Phil Fisher took the Republican primary in Clinton with 57% of the vote and Rodney Carter showed strong with 70% in the Democratic primary. Pearl’s Brad Rodgers secured his mayoral bid with 83% of the vote. Meridian’s incumbent Republican Mayor Cheri Barry will face Democrat Percy Bland in the general election. And Teresa Mack looks forward to representing Ward 4 on Byram’s Board of Aldermen. She received 72% of the vote.